34th IAHR Biennial Congress, Brisbane Australia 34th IAHR Biennial Congress, Brisbane Australia
Layout Image
Layout Image
Layout Image
Add an events to my calendar
layout image


What's New!
We are pleased to announce that the 2011 Munro Oration will be given by Arthur Askew, and the 2011 Henderson Oration by Eric Lesleighter. See the Keynote Speakers page for details on these distinguished speakers.

On behalf of the 34th IAHR World Congress Organisation, IAHR and , we are delighted to extend our personal invitation to you to join us in Brisbane, Australia for the 34th World Congress of the International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research (IAHR).  Engineers Australia and its (NCWE) are collaborating with IAHR to organize the 34th IAHR World Congress together with the 33rd National Hydrology and Water Resources Symposium and the 10th National Conference on Hydraulics in Water Engineering.

The Congress theme "Balance and Uncertainty: Water in a Changing World" focuses on the central roles of hydraulic engineering, hydrology and water resources in our changing world, and how these roles link to the broader issues. A balance is continually being sought between competing values in water engineering, including the environment, the economy, tourism, social and indigenous values, health aspects, aesthetics, and the needs of current and future generations. Careful management and innovative solutions are required to balance these values, and solutions must be able to deal with the uncertainty in the natural world as well as the changing human world.

Brisbane, Australia is an attractive destination - a well-organised modern city, within close proximity to some of the world's greatest natural attractions!.

TAMAI 2009 website

Professor Nobuyuki Tamai
President IAHR

Professor of River Engineering, Kanazawa Gakuin University
Emeritus Professor, University of Toyko


Professor Hubert Chanson
Chair 34th IAHR Executive Steering Committee

Professor in Civil Engineering, University of Queensland

Mark Babister

Mr Mark Babister
Chair NCWE

Director WMA Water

A/Professor James Ball

Associate Professor James Ball
Deputy Chair 34th IAHR Executive Steering Committee

Associate Professor in Civil Engineering, University of Technology Sydney